What Vegan food I ate today – Sunday 26th March

I’ve had a very unhealthy weekend. I made three, YES THREE, hot chocolate fudge cakes on Friday which I demolished two myself over two days.. D: My sweet tooth is definetly getting the better of my at the moment, such a killer!

Today was another major carb day which wasn’t great as I didn’t go to the gym.. Ooops! Tomorrow I’ll get back on the healthy eating (we all know that’s not going to happen). Fortunately the HIIT sessions at work are back on at lunch time twice a week, so I’ll be able to burn off some extra calories!

I got up super late today, my body was so tired. I made some carrot cake oats which I’ve been wanting to try for a while, they were scrummy!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup Koko coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp coconut cream
  • 1/2 grated carrot
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Sprinkle of nutmeg
  • Handful of raisins

    Topping

  • 2 tbsp vanilla Alpro yogurt
  • 1 tbsp Pbfit powder (mixed with water to your consistency)
  • 1 banana (caramelized in maple syrup)
  • Mixed seeds
  • Cacao nibs

 

Directions

  • Put all of the ingredients into a pan and simmer until desired consistency.
  • Add to a bowl and top with your choice of toppings

I ended up going back to bed for an hours nap, which is very unlike me!

When I finally decided to get out of bed I went to meet a friend for some coffee, I actually ended up having a matcha latte. We went to a new vegan cafe called The longhouse Cafe. I bumped into the owner in Aldi the day before who told me to stop by, and I’m so glad I did. The cafe is a community space. The first thing that I noticed when I walked in was that there was a guitar in the corner which had ‘play me’ written on it, what a great idea!! There were local artists works on the walls which were up for sale, plants were draped from the ceilings which made the air feel clean, and mini cacti were placed on the tables, so adorable! This place had such a homely feel to it.

My friend and I went for matcha lattes which were served in beautiful cups, hand-made  by, what I can guess, a local artist. They also served food and cakes, both of which look amazing, I can’t wait to go back so that I can try them!

We chose to make the most of the beautiful weather and sit outside on the reclaimed, old, school desks. The friendly owner came over with pads and colouring pencils, he advised us that we could draw whatever we felt, they were for customers to use (not just for kids!!). Such a nice touch.

Once I had soaked up some rays on the beach, I came home to make some lunch, Asian tofu burgers.

Ingredients

  • 2 wholemeal buns
  • 200g tofu
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • Handful of spinach

Salad

  • 1/4 cucumber, spiralized
  • 1/4 carrot, spiralized
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds

Sauce

  • 2 tbsp bbq sauce
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp hot sauce
  • 1/2 lime juice
  • 2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

Directions

  • Combine all of the salad ingredients in a bowl and set aside
  • Heat sesame oil over a medium heat and add the tofu slices, frying until golden brown on each side
  • Combine all of the sauce ingredients in a bowl and coat the tofu with the sauce
  • Add the tofu to a bun, top with the salad and spinach

 

These were ok, the sauce tasted like what you get on BQQ spare rib, but you couldn’t really taste it because of the salad. If I have them again I think that I’d tweak the recipe to make the most of the flavours.

For dinner I made sushi, enough for lunch the next day too! This was the second time that I’ve made sushi, I’m definitely getting better at it. The majority of these held! Yay!!

I made four combinations:

  • Mango and avocado
  • Avocado, sundried tomato, pepper, chilli, cilantro, cucumber, sesame seeds and soy sauce
  • Sweet potato, pepper, coconut, avocado, cucumber, bbq sauce, lime juice
  • Sweet potato, mango, pepper, cucumber, coconut and sweet chilli sauce

I’m excited for my lunch tomorrow now! What did everyone get up to this weekend? I feel like mine has just been spent eating! I hope that yours were filled with delicious food too!

Leave a Reply

