Vegan pancakes and sunshine

I love Saturdays, they’re the one day of the week where I get to eat my favourite breakfasts. Pancakes has always been a favourtie food of mine, I have the worst sweet tooth. Fortunately I went to the gym and did a fasted heavy leg session this morning, so needed to feed my body to help it recover.

I saw a post on Instagram the other day of lemon and blueberry oats, they looked delicious, so today I decided develop this into pancakes. See the recipe below. If you want to know my leg routine, give me a shout!

Ingredients

1 cup oats
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 banana for batter
1/2 banana for topping
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/3 cup water
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 lemon
1 cup frozen berries
1 tbsp coconut cream
2 tbsp vanilla yogurt

 

Directions

– Put the oats into a blender and blend until flour consistency.
– Add the coconut flour, baking powder, water, maple syrup, banana, grated lemon rind and lemon juice to the blend and mix until blended. Leave mixture for 5 mins to thicken.
– Heat a non-stick pan and put small amounts of the batter in. Cook for 3 min and flip, cook for another min and place on a plate.
– Repeat process until all of the batter has gone.
– Add the rest of the banana and some maple syrup to a pan. Fry until caramelized.
– Mix the coconut cream and yogurt together, drizzle in between or just on top of the pancakes.
– Sprinkle the berries on top, add maple syrup and eat!

 

I couldn’t even finish this stack, it was so filling, although I actually saved that I couldn’t eat for a snack later on in the day.

I spent the afternoon at the beach with it being such a beautiful day, watching the world go by, feeling the sun on my skin, the wind on my face. I can’t wait for summer!

17474709_1296734373736018_393755625_n

With me having my breakfast at 12, my lunch is usually around 3/4pm but because I was walking around I missed this. So for dinner I had what was planned for my lunch, Curry Crusted Sweet Potatoes, recipe from BOSH!

Ingredients

Paste:

2 inches ginger
3 cloves garlic
1 tbsp salt
1/3 cup desiccated coconut
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp cumin
1 lime (juiced)
4 tbsp sun dried tomato oil
1 cup sun dried tomatoes
1 red chilli
small bunch cilantro

Spicy Avocado Cream:

2 avocados
1 clove garlic
1 red chilli (deseeded)
1 tsp salt
1/2 cumin
1/2 garam massala
4 sun dried tomatoes
1 tbsp sun dried tomatoes
1 lime (juice)
small bunch cilantro

2 large sweet potatoes (I had two small ones)

Directions

– Microwave the sweet potatoes for around 10 mins
– Put all the paste ingredients in a food processor to make a a paste
– Rub the paste on to the skin of the sweet potatoes
– Bake them for 10-15 mins, depending on how crusty you want the potato to be, at 200℃
– Put all the Spicy Avocado Cream ingredients in the food processor to make a filling
– Remove the potatoes from the oven, put them on your plate, cut them open and fill them with the avocado filling

17455103_1296610810415041_914730832_o

This may look like crap, but the flavours are amazing! I’d tweak mine a little next time to  not have so many sundried tomatoes as they were a little over-powering but wow this was good! I can’t wait to have it again!

What did everyone else have for food today? I hope that you all got to enjoy the sun too!

Leave a Reply

