Intermittent fasting and my juice fast

Fasting is my favourite, and one of the healthiest lifestyles that you can lead. It helps me to control my sugar cravings, helps aid weight loss and helps me to build muscle. During my fasted state I feel full of energy and I can concentrate much better. I choose to do my HIIT sessions within this period as I am burning the fat which is deeper in my body. As I am fasted during a HIIT session I am burning twice the amount of fat as i would be burning during a non-fasted state. My HIIT sessions usually last around 20-25 minutes and consist of 14 different exercises done at 30 seconds each, at maximum effort, with no rest. Once I have completed the exercises I will have a 30 second rest, I do the circuit 4 times. If you want to find out more about HIIT sessions, see here.

There are different types of intermittent fasting. The one that I follow is a daily fast. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts my fast lasts for 17 hours and I eat within a 7 hour window. Some people will only eat 2 meals within their window. Some people fast for much longer periods of time and will only eat one meal a day. Because I love food, and I want to keep a higher calorie intake due to building muscle, I choose to carry on having 3 meals. When you have finished eating a meal your body will take around 3-5 hours to digest it. Within this time it is very hard for your body to burn fat, this is due to insulin levels being high. During your fasted state your body burns fat easily due to insulin levels being low. Our bodies don’t go in to a fasted state until 12 hours after our last meal, due to the large amount that we have eaten, so the majority of people will never enter the fasted state, and will not be able to burn optimal fat. Scientists have proven that intermittent fasting helps you live longer and that it may reduce the risk of cancer. There have been studies where cancer patients have taken part in alternate day fasting, where they would fast before chemotherapy, and the results showed better cure rates and fewer deaths. Combining fasting with a vegan diet and you’re almost invincible! See this video of a 100 yr old surgeon who eats a vegan diet.

As I have been ill for over a week I decided to take part in a juice fast for a day so that my body could be flushed, was resting in terms of digesting food, and was able to concentrate more on making me better. I also had green tea throughout the day to help me keep full.

For my breakfast at 12pm I made a green juice:

Ingredients

  • 1 orange
  • 1/2 lemon
  • handful spinach
  • 3 large black kale leaves
  • 2 apples
  • 1 inch cucumber
  • 1 inch ginger

 

I had lunch at around 3pm which started as off as one of my favourite juices, carrot and ginger, but I added in some red cabbage to mix it up a little.

15856978_1216125551796901_2117431278_o

Ingredients

  • 2 carrots
  • 1 apple
  • 1 orange
  • 1 inch ginger
  • handful of red cabbage

 

Dinner was a sweeter juice at around 6pm, I finished my juice a little earlier. I still managed to squeeze a few vegetables in this one. I added a sweet potato which I’ve never put in to a juice before, it turned out really nice!

Ingredients

  • 1 orange
  • 2 apples
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 3 small beets
  • 1 inch ginger
  • 2 carrots

 

The juice hasn’t cured me of my cold, but it has made me feel lighter after Christmas! i think that a juice detox is great to do if you’re wanting to give your body a break.

Today I’m trying a mixture of a smoothie, juice and salad. Let’s see how I get on! I hope you all had a great New Years, and Happy New Year to you all! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Intermittent fasting and my juice fast

Leave a Reply

