Christmas Holidays inc vegan baileys recipe

Christmas is probably my favourite time of the year. Spending time with loved ones, friends, eating loads of food, and getting merry every day without being judged (I cannot wait for a detox though in the new year!).

Xmas eve was a a chilled one. I did yoga, made a delicious looking smoothie (banana, frozen berries, a peach, a kiwi and soya milk) as I was starting to come down with a cold. We went to see my Grandad and then went to the pub with my brother and friend.

I spent Christmas day with my family eating food, opening presents, and playing games (a family tradition). My Christmas dinner consisted of a curried parsnip soup made by my auntie, a nut roast with port and cranberry sauce with all of the trimmings, and an apple and mixed berry crumble with custard (all vegan of course and made by mother bear!).

Boxing day we went for a long walk around the moors and ending up at one of the local pubs, which has had a refurbishment, for food. Although they didn’t advertise having vegan meals, there were one or two. I had a vegetable chilli with chips, which was delicious!

My final day in Manchester was spent with my best friends. We went for some cocktails at a cool Brazilian restuarant/bar, Canbana, in The Corn Exchange. They have 2 for 1 on drinks 5-7pm. The decor was awesome! We managed to steal some hammocks, which I really want in my room now, they were so comfy. I can definitely imagine me doing some yoga in those. Then we went to Wahaca for dinner, one of my favourite Mexican chain restaurants. They accommodate for vegans and the food is packed with flavour. I love that you can either have a burrito or have ‘tapas’ type food.

I made some vegan baileys as this is something I missed being vegan. And as I promised a few days back on Instragram, I would post the recipe.

15801304_1210782058997917_981498617_n

Ingredients

1 can coconut milk

3 tsp vanilla

2 tsp agave syrup

150ml whisky

Directions

Add all of the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. I kept stopping the blender to try and make sure it was to my own taste. I probably ended up putting around 200ml or more of whisky, and around 4 tsp of agave syrup in to the coconut milk in the end. But as mentioned, this is to your own taste!

 

Enjoy and Merry Xmas all!

Leave a Reply

