Breakfast on the go and Vegan protein bowl

Another busy day back in home in Bolton. I got my hair re-permed, so I am currently looking, as Dan says, like a poodle. Cheers babe.

photo-on-23-12-2016-at-20-52

As always my fast finished at 12pm so I had breakfast on the go today. It was over night oats topped with my favourite; caramelized bananas and cinnamon apples, with peanut butter and some kiwi for some extra vitamins (I’m a little under the weather at the moment).

15696769_1204806422928814_1683719992_o

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • date syrup
  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • 1 kiwi
  • cinnamon
  • peanut butter
  • plant based milk
  • pumpkin and sunflower seeds
  • goji berries
  • raisins

Directions

  • Add the oats, chia seeds, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, berries, raisins, syrup and milk into a jar and stir. Leave over night.
  • When you’re ready to eat add some more date syrup to a pan and heat, adding the bananas to caramelize. When cooked through, remove and add to the oats.
  • Put the sliced apple into the already caramelized pan with cinnamon and cook. Add to the oats when soft.
  • Cut the kiwi, add the the rest of the ingredients, and a spoonful of peanut better.
  • EAT!

I didn’t take a picture of my lunch today unfortunately so I won’t be sharing the recipe. It was delicious, but after my heavy leg day yesterday I made a vegan protein bowl. This came from the left overs from my Christmas Meal. I love it when people ask me ‘but where do you get your protein from?’ Well here you go – one of the sources that I get my protein is lentils. Some of the other sources are below:

  • Tofu – 22g per 1/2 cup
  • Seitan – 21g per 1/2 cup
  • Tempeh – 17g per 1/2 cup
  • Quinoa – 8g per cup
  • Chia seeds – 4g per 2 tsp
  • Hemp seeds – 10g per 2 tsp
  • Nuts and seeds – Dependent on the nut/seed
  • Spirulina – 12g per cup
  • Peanut butter – 25g per 100g

15725498_1204806732928783_1485372041_o

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup lentils
  • 1/4 cup cous cous
  • Roast potatoes
  • left over roast veg
  • sprouted seeds
  • 1/2 cube of veg stock

Directions

  • Add the cous cous with 1/2 a veg stock and enough water to cover it into a bowl. Cover the bowl until the cous cous has soaked up all of the water.
  • Add the remainder of the warmed ingredients to the bowl and top with your favourite sauce if required.

I hope everyone is exciting for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

