Redundancy Life – Day 1.

On the 1st December 2016 I was made redundant from my ‘dream job.’ Although I was redundant I accepted a new job that same day, but with a month off (a month off?! What am I meant to do with a month off??). After a few days of sitting watching Friends all day I decided to use this time wisely (it’s not often that people get time off to DO life).
The two months leading up to redundancy my day-to-day life became dull, I felt as though I had lost myself. Constant worry and anxiety, not sleeping and of course, all of this lead me to eating my feelings.
I decided that this month will be spent learning about myself, self-love, doing things that make me feel good and happy, and of course, documenting it through this wonderful blog!

So I woke up this morning with my usual routine, looking at my phone, checking social media until there was nothing more to look at; my aim in the next week will be to stop doing this.

photo-on-05-12-2016-at-10-18

I followed this pointless routine with a 15 minute attempted meditation. I have heard that meditating as soon as you wake up in the morning (after a glass of water as you’ll be dehydrated after sleep) reaps benefits for your day ahead, (cue positivity) so I had to give it a try! I have always struggled with meditation as I have a very busy and wandering mind, a struggle with having anxiety. Personally I prefer to do it once I’ve finished a yoga session as this is when the mind is most relaxed, but alas, I put on a 5 minute ‘Positive Mind‘ meditation – I was not open-minded enough for this and just made strange faces whilst listening to it.

photo-on-05-12-2016-at-10-23-4

After this I tried my own meditation, listening to some ‘Reiki Healing Music’, I used a breathing technique that I learned in one of my yoga classes which helped for a while, but my back started aching after about 4 minutes and at that point my mind wandered for the remainder of the time. Tomorrow I’ll try lying down meditation, and try not to fall back to sleep!

Previously, in my healthier days, I have fasted daily (I will post about this more in-depth in another blog). This means no food or drinks, that contain calories, can be consumed within a fasted period. I usually fast for 12 hours and eat for 7 hours, so I can eat as much as my body needs between 12pm and 7pm. Because of this my morning is usually spent consuming water, or if I’m hungry a herbal tea to fill me up. As I’m looking to ‘love myself’ (no dirty puns you lot! And by the way, size DOES matter – see below) I have chosen to drink green tea, because ya know its meant to be dead good for you (HI I’M A NORTHERN LASS), followed by a shot of wheatgrass.

20161205_110929

Green tea benefits (in case you’re wondering!) – rich in antioxidants, help to boost weight loss (WOOP WOOP! Gimmie a gallon of the stuff), reduce cholesterol, may lower the risk of cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s, can improve brain function (it better make me smarter) and kill bacteria. But please, do your own research as well.

Wheatgrass Benefits – Rich in protein, Chlorophyll which helps slow the aging process (line up ladies!), it is antibacterial, lowers blood pressure, increases red blood-cell count, cleanses the blood, organs and reduces eczema – there’s so many more benefits but too many to say! Again, please research into this more if you’re interested!

The second part of my morning was spent writing a bit on this blog and doing a fasted HIIT session. This is what I look like on my first day of fasting and just before my workout.

This is what I look like afterwards. Note that if you’re not sweaty after a workout then YOU HAVEN’T WORKED OUT HARD ENOUGH!!!

photo-on-05-12-2016-at-12-02-5

I finished my fast at 12.30pm today as I spent longer on my HIIT than intended! My breakfast (BREAK-FAST 😉 ) was a smoothie bowl, recipe is below:

20161205_125648

  • 1 Banana
  • Handful of blackberries
  • 1 tbsp coconut cream
  • Handful of spinach
  • 2 tbsp of strawberry and rhubarb Alpro yogurt
  • A splash of green tea
  • 1 kiwi
  • Sprinkle of oats and raisins
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Sprinkle of turmeric
  • Agave syrup

The first part of my afternoon consisted of watching one of my beautiful nephews in his nativity play, which was fantastic, singing Christmas songs and doing a bum wiggle dance on my chain – something I am very partial to! I’m feeling rather festive right now, this may also be because my parents are putting the Christmas decorations up around me as I’m writing this! Yay XMAS!! Here’s a picture of what I got in my advent calendar today (I like pictures, can you tell??) – my mum made me a vegan advent calendar, CUTE! 😀

20161205_111655

The rest of my afternoon/evening will be spent attempting, for the 100th time, to learn Spanish. Let me give you a low down on this – I have been to Spain every single year since I was born, I took Spanish for 3 years at school, and as GCSE, to which I managed to get a D in, and I lived with a Spanish man for 1 whole year…can I speak Spanish? NOOOO!!! Seriously, my brain does not want to learn any language other than ‘sniffer’ language (some weird sniffing noises me and my boyfriend have managed to make into a language, and somehow understand). For all those people out there who are in the same predicament as me, you’re not alone, we’re in this together, we WILL stand together. So here I am again, on a quest to learn Spanish. My method this time is to go back to ma roots and get on that GCSE Bitesize ting.

Keep your fingers and toes, maybe everything, crossed and I’ll let y’all know how I get on.

But for now it’s peace out x

Leave a Reply

